Review: The Dagger in the Desk (Lockwood & Co #1.5) by Jonathan Stroud

Posted 2 February, 2015 by Rinn in Review / 4 Comments

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: The Dagger in the Desk (Lockwood & Co #1.5) by Jonathan StroudThe Dagger in the Desk by Jonathan Stroud
Series: Lockwood & Co #1.5
Published by Random House on 9th February 2015
Genres: Fiction, Horror, Paranormal, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

In London, a mysterious and potentially deadly ghost is stalking the halls of St Simeon’s Academy for Talented Youngsters. It lurks in the shadows, spreading fear and icy cold – and it carries a sharp and very solid dagger... The headmaster wastes no time in enlisting the help of ghost-hunters Anthony Lockwood, Lucy Carlyle and George Cubbins. Can Lockwood & Co. survive the night and save the day?

I’m never sure about reviewing novellas and short stories. Sometimes I don’t feel I have enough to say about them, or that I will have developed enough of a sense of the book in such a small number of pages. Luckily, I am already familiar with the universe of Lockwood & Co having absolutely loved the two books written by Jonathan Stroud so far, and The Dagger in the Desk just leaps straight into the action.

What I didn’t realise until after I’d read the book is that it was written over six days, with help from members of the Guardian newspaper’s children’s website, who voted on the name, location and the ghost. My initial thought, before reading this, was that it would most likely appeal to the target audience even more, due to being set in a school. It’s definitely something that would have appealed to me when I was younger, having to miss school due to a haunting!

Despite the very short nature of the book, Jonathan Stroud proves that he is a master storyteller by building up the tension in only a few pages. What I’ve always found surprising about this series is that despite being aimed at Middle Grade and above, it is actually genuinely creepy in some places – and this novella was no exception. Even though the case is over and done with rather quickly, Stroud provides some eerie moments and a memorable ghostly foe.

The book was even shorter than expected, with a handy guide to the ghouls Lockwood, George and Lucy encounter through the series, as well as a sample of The Screaming Staircase. Definitely worth checking out for fans of Lockwood & Co who just can’t wait for book number three – such as myself!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Review: The Dagger in the Desk (Lockwood & Co #1.5) by Jonathan Stroud

    • Yep, although when I saw this one on NG I thought it was the 3rd book, which would have been pretty quick! It’s such a wonderful series, I still can’t quite get the first book out of my head 🙂

Leave a Reply